mmi anniversary logo outlined

MMI Preparatory School recently presented athletic awards to students during the school’s annual Awards Convocation.

The awards were presented by MMI Athletic Director Jason Tribbet and team coaches.

The District 2 Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association Scholar-Athlete Award were presented to Dana Carrato and Nicholas Young. The award is for students who have participated in MMI’s athletic program for multiple years, maintained high academic averages and are involved in community and school service. Dana Carrato and Garrett Kost received the 2017 Wendy’s High School Heisman Award, which recognizes students for success and achievement in both academics and athletics.

Golfer, Jessica McClellan, was recognized as the girls’ medalist in the Wyoming Valley Conference Pre-District tournament. She shot the lowest female score among all competitors in the tournament with a round of 83. McClellan went on to finish second in the District II Championship at Elmhurst Country Club in Moscow with a round of 90. This earned her a spot in the PIAA Eastern Regional Tournament at Golden Oaks Golf Club in Fleetwood.

MMI Scholar AthletesTeams recognized Most Valuable Players, Most Improved Players, and Coaches’ Award recipients. Award winners were as follows:

Baseball: MVP – George Palermo; Most Improved Player – Lucas Smith; Coaches’ Award – Kisan Patel.

Boys’ Basketball: Co-MVP’s – Kyle Williams and Kisan Patel; Coaches’ Award – Nicholas Young.

Boys’ Cross Country: Most Valuable Runner – John Malay; Most Improved Runner – Coleman Smith; Coaches’ Award – Mark Sitch.

Girls’ Cross Country: Most Valuable Runner – Gabriella DeMelfi; Most Improved Runner – Lauren Herman; Coaches’ Award – Erin Sari.

Golf: MVP – George Palermo; Most Improved Player – Jessica McClellan; Coaches’ Award – Douglas Genetti.

Soccer: MVP – David Caldwell; Most Improved Player – Garrett Kost; Coaches’ Award – Kevin Cibak.

Softball: MVP – Olivia Minzola; Most Improved Player – Katharine Pinto; Coaches’ Award – Dana Carrato.

Boys’ Tennis: Co-MVPs – Jonathan Smith and Evan Spear; Coaches’ Award – Evan Dryfoos.

Girls’ Tennis: MVP – Katharine Pinto; Most Improved Player – Elizabeth Pinto; Coaches’ Award – Jessica Smith.

Volleyball: MVP – Dana Carrato; Most Improved Player – Elise Hreha; Coaches’ Award – Gabriella Kupsho.

Cheerleading: MVP – Lacee Gera; Most Improved – Lauren Freeman; Coaches’ Award – Catherine Matyas.


MMI140logo insidepages desktop

Considering MMI?



If you have any admissions questions, please contact:

Marci Hosier
Director of Enrollment Management & Marketing