MMI COVID mobile

MMI honored students in ninth through 12th grades during its annual Upper School Awards Convocation, which was held virtually this year.

MMI Head of School Justin Kleinheider provided welcoming remarks and presented the awards along with MMI Academic Dean Justin Vincent.

Catherine Havrilla received the 2020 MMI Ambassador Service Award. The award is designed to recognize a senior ambassador who exemplifies the true meaning of ambassadorship and has been active in the program for three or more years.

Ryan McNelis received the Wilkes University Colonel Emerging Leader Award. This award is granted to high school juniors who demonstrate academic potential. Selected students are guaranteed a minimum of $10,000 per year should the student be admitted and enroll at Wilkes University in the fall semester immediately following high school graduation.

The Eckley B. Coxe Jr. Memorial Subject Awards, named after the nephew of MMI founder Eckley B. Coxe, recognized seniors who displayed academic excellence in various subject areas over the student’s entire tenure in the upper school. Benjamin Putnam received the awards for Mathematics, Science, English, Chinese, and History. Additional subject award winners are German – Paige Machulsky, Spanish – Andrellie Puntiel, and Visual Arts – Macy Zenier.

Students in ninth through eleventh grades who exhibited outstanding contribution, achievement, and dedication to an individual subject area during the past academic year received the 2020 MMI Subject Awards. Winners are as follows:

Ninth grade: English, Science, and History – Jessica Zheng; Mathematics and Chinese – Jillian McGeehin; German – Khristian Banks; Spanish – Sadie Cloud; Visual Arts – Gianna Moisey-Hoover; and Music Performance – Sarah Yanuzzi. 10th grade: English – Olivia Bartholomew; Science – Ashley Loss; Mathematics, History, and Spanish – Rachael Betz; Chinese – Connor Spencer; German – Alain Benitez; Visual Arts – Gina Galada; and Music Performance – Amelia Minzola. 11th grade: English – Dominique Kline; Science and Mathematics – Kevin McNulty; History – Katherine Lewandowski; Chinese – Emily Ryan; German – Louis DeAngelo; Spanish – Hiba Muhammad; and Visual Arts – Morgan Allen.

Earlier this school year, 39 students in the MMI Future Business Leaders of America chapter learned they advanced from the FBLA Regional Leadership Conference to compete at the state level. The State Leadership Conference was held virtually this year and four students placed in the top 10 in their respective categories. Adam Tron and Emily Ankiewicz earned fourth place in Global Business and are eligible to compete in the virtual National Leadership Experience, which will take place this summer, in a completely online forum. Darren Zheng finished fifth in Computer Game & Simulation, and Paige Machulsky placed eighth in Advertising.

Other award presentations included: Jake Kislan ’56 Polonaise Society Award – Christian Yamulla; Woodmen of the World American History Award – Benjamin Putnam; Voice of Democracy Audio Essay Competition – Natalie Graham, Jayden Bonham, Katherine Lewandowski, Paige Machulsky, and Jessica Zheng; George Eastman Kodak Young Leaders Award and Scholarship – Christian Badamo; Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award – Darren Zheng; Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award in Humanities and Social Sciences – Hannah Falatko; Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology – Louis DeAngelo; Rensselaer Medal Award – Darren Zheng; Bryn Mawr President’s Book Award – Dominique Kline; Russell Sage College Student Sage Award – Morgan Allen, Hunter Blasko, Kimberly Amentler, Morgan Hosier, and James Kelly; University of Pennsylvania Book Award – Aaron Haber; Wells College 21st Century Leadership Award – McKenna Gallagher and Colin Williams; Wellesley College Club Book Award – Sydney Kohl; Elmira College Key Award – Julie Amentler and Ethan Stine; Rochester Institute of Technology Computing Medal – Natalie Graham and Kevin McNulty; Rochester Institute of Technology Innovation and Creativity Award – Katherine Lewandowski and Robert Rinaldi; Brandeis Book Award – Hiba Muhammad; George Washington Book Award – Alexandra Young; American Association of Teachers of German Award – Kai Mele; American Red Cross High School Leadership Scholarship – Andrellie Puntiel; American Legion Good Citizenship Award – Christian Yamulla; and Wilkes University High School Counselor Award – Madyson Hornack.

Over $500,000 in scholarships were awarded at this year’s ceremony. 

Considering MMI?



If you have any admissions questions, please contact:

Marci Hosier
Director of Enrollment Management & Marketing